Tag: Gets
Google gets hands on 32 “typo-squatter” domains
Ari Goldberger gets reverse domain hijacking win for Kevin Ham
Planate Management Group guilty of attempting reverse domain name hijacking.
Ari Goldberger’s lawfirm ESQwire has won a reverse domain name hijacking claim on behalf of client Vertical Axis, which is Kevin Ham’s company.
The guilty party is Planate Management Group LLC of Alexandria, Virginia. The company owns Planate.net but wanted to get its hands on Planate.com in this dispute.
Yet Planate didn’t start using the name “planate” until 2008 according to a filed trademark. That’s three years after Vertical Axis registered the domain name. So this was a losing case from the beginning.
According to the panelists’ decision, Planate argued that subsequent renewals of the domain name were done in bad faith.
It also provided exhibits to the panel showing keywords on the Planate.com parked page that competed with the complainant. However, Vertical Axis believes these search results pages were fabricated by using the search box on the parked page.
In finding reverse domain name hijacking, the three person panel wrote:
…In the present case it is self-evident from the facts that the Respondent did not know and could not have known of the Complainant’s rights in the mark PLANATE because they did not come into being until (at least) three years after registration. This fact would be self-evident to the Complainant itself and indeed is acknowledged in the Complaint where it is stated:
“Even if the Respondent registered the ‘www.planate.com’ domain name prior to the Complainant’s first use of the trademark on November 8, 2007 …”
Even in its fallback for contention of bad faith registration based on paragraph 2 of the Policy i.e. assertions as to what the Respondent should have done on renewal, the Complainant specifically allows for the fact that the Respondent did not know of the Complainant or its trademark:
“These renewals notwithstanding, if the Respondent did not specifically know of the Complainant or if its trademark or [of] its trademark rights when it renewed the disputed domain name multiple times, the finding of bad faith registration should still be confirmed under the circumstances of this case by Vertical Access Inc’s willful blindness.
World Intellectual Property Organization just handed down another win for ESQwire and VerticalAxis today as well for Trucco.com.

© DomainNameWire.com 2011.
Get Certified Parking Stats at DNW Certified Stats.
Related posts:
- Kevin Ham Wins Reverse Domain Name Hijacking Charge
- Kevin Ham Wins Reverse Domain Name Hijacking Charge
- Ari Goldberger Gets Win for FullTerm.com
Apple gets control over porn domain names
Owner of domain names agrees to give domain names to Apple after company filed complaint.
Apple is now the proud owner of iphonesex4s.com and six other (mostly) explicit domain names.
The company filed a complaint with World Intellectual Property Forum against the owner of the seven domain names last month. All of the domain names forwarded to a mobile porn site when visited on a mobile device.
Apple terminated the case after the owner of the domains agreed to turn the domain names over. The whois record for the domains changed to brand protection company MarkMonitor today:

When the case was filed the domain ownership information was protected by whois privacy. This was later removed to disclose an Israeli company owned the domain names.
The seven domain names are:
iphonecamforce.com
iphonecam4s.com
iphoneporn4s.com
iphonesex4s.com
iphonexxxforce.com
iphone4s.com
porn4iphones.com
I wouldn’t expect Apple to resolve any of the domain names except for iPhone4s.com. [update: some readers have pointed out that the names still forward to the porn sites. The nameservers still point to the old source, so Apple/MarkMonitor need to change these ASAP.]

© DomainNameWire.com 2011.
Get Certified Parking Stats at DNW Certified Stats.
Related posts:
- Apple Fights for iPhone Porn Domain Names Including iphone4s.com
- Apple Goes After High Traffic iTunes Typo Domain Names
- Is Apple Entitled to Appl.com?
Google gets SOMETHING RIGHT!

I had previously written about my extreme displeasure of major brands using Facebook advertising their companies. (Facebook URLs, Are You Kidding Me?!)
I have a love/hate relationship with Google. Sometimes they do great things, and other times, I am left scratching my head.
But today we are here to give congratulations to Google.
Found from their quality rating guidelines, they have made this very important declaration:
Some Results Are “Vital”
The “Vital” relevance rating is a special case. Any official entity – a company, an actor/actress, a politician, etc., can have a vital result. In most cases, this is their official home-page. Only a dominant interpretation can be vital – Apple Vacations will never be the vital result for “apple”.
Social profiles can also be vital, if those profiles are for individuals or small groups. So, a politician, actress or rock band could have multiple “vital” pages (their home-page, their Facebook page, and their Twitter profile, for example).
Interestingly, Google specifically instructs that social media profiles for companies cannot be considered vital.
THANK YOU GOOGLE!
You are +1 today.
SEO Internet Marketing Services – SEO Marketing Services
SEO Internet Marketing Services
Google gets hands on GoogleSSL.com domain name
Verizon Gets VerizoniPhone.com
Elliot Silver: Earlier this morning, TechCrunch reported that Apple was able to acquire the iPhone4.com domain name. The news was based on an earlier Fusible report, although details of the deal weren’t disclosed, so it’s unknown if Apple paid for the domain name or used its legal options to secure it. In somewhat related but different …
Domaining.com
Hewlett-Packard gets hands on HPTablet.com domain name
Prada gets hands on PradaHandbags.com domain name
99Designs Gets $35M, Should Spend Some Of It and Buy Logo.com
Elliot Silver: A friend of a friend emailed me a press release announcing that 99Designs, a popular logo and web design company, just received a $ 35 million investment from Accel Partners and other angel investment firms. Wow… that’s a lot of money, especially when it didn’t seem to me like they had funding needs. So what will 99D…
Domaining.com
Righthaven Gets Punked By Invalid Whois
“Copyright Troll” domain name suspended due to invalid whois information.
Copyright enforcer Righthaven LLC has been punked thanks to allegedly invalid whois information.
The company’s web site Righthaven.com currently shows an invalid whois notice from Go Daddy.
Anyone can make a complaint about invalid whois information. In Go Daddy’s case, the company sends a notice to the customer and gives them time to respond (assuming the email doesn’t bounce right away). If the domain owner doesn’t respond then the domain gets suspended and the customer is charged $ 10.
That’s what happened in this case.
I just got off the phone with Righthaven founder Steven Gibson. I explained what is going on (he wasn’t aware yet), and discovered that the email address on the whois was invalid.
Righthaven has been lambasted for its aggressive lawsuits, including its request that sites with copyright-infringing material hand over their domain names. So it’s a bit ironic.
It’s probably no big loss for Righthaven, though. A recent cache of its web site doesn’t show any content. But it’s possible the company uses it for email.
(via @rhvictims and DNN)
© DomainNameWire.com 2011.
Get Certified Parking Stats at DNW Certified Stats.
Related posts:
- Has GoDaddy Done a 180 on Invalid Whois?
- Invalid Whois? GoDaddy Charges $ 9.95
- GoDaddy Makes Reporting Invalid Whois Easy
